How to Open/Close Student Access to My Blackboard Ultra Course

Summary

Faculty can determine whether their Blackboard courses is "Open" or "Closed" to their students, and may choose to close access to the course prior or following a term. When technical assistance such as a course copy is performed by IT, courses are set to be closed from student access to allow the requesting faculty to review/finalize their content before making the course available. This article for Instructors demonstrates how to set student visibility for an entire Blackboard Ultra course.

Body

Overview

Faculty can determine whether their Blackboard courses is "Open" or "Closed" to their students, and may choose to close access to the course prior or following a term. When technical assistance such as a course copy is performed by IT, courses are set to be closed from student access to allow the requesting faculty to review/finalize their content before making the course available. This article for Instructors demonstrates how to set student visibility for an entire Blackboard Ultra course.

 

Audience

University Employees

 

Information

The steps below document how to "open" a course that is currently "closed" to student visibility/access. 

1. Enter the course(s) on Blackboard. At the upper right, you will see that it says "Closed". Click "Course Settings". 

Uploaded image

2. On the pane that appears, scroll down slightly, and you will see the "Course Access" section. Right now, it will reflect "Closed": 

Uploaded image

3. Click the radio button next to "Open". That's all - no need to save, or submit. "Course Access" will change to "Open", and if you click the blue X at the upper left, you'll see that the course is now listed as "Open".

Uploaded image

Uploaded image

Make sure that your Blackboard course is "Open" on the first day of class, and during the semester when it is active, so that students are able to see and access it!

**One more note - if you go back to the "Courses" page right after making this adjustment, it may still indicate the course(s) are closed. The Courses page does NOT automatically refresh - make sure to refresh/reload the Courses page to ensure that the updated status properly reflects. 

Uploaded image

If you have any inquiries on setting course visibility, or any other Blackboard-related questions, please email servicedesk@saintpeters.edu or create a service ticket for assistance. 

Details

Details

Article ID: 172765
Created
Tue 9/1/26 9:39 AM
Modified
Tue 9/1/26 9:44 AM

Related Articles

Related Articles (1)

On May 18, 2024, Blackboard was updated from Learn Original to Ultra Base Navigation. The update significantly changed navigational components between courses and provides new consolidated areas for viewing and managing courses and grades, as well as an activity feed that provides updates. This article showcases what changed, and demonstrates several basic functions and actions. Note that this article does not cover the changeover to Blackboard Ultra Courses.