Managing Google Meet Attendees

Overview

Google Meet has a built-in set of security settings to ensure that Saint Peter's Faculty, Staff and Students can create and join meetings, and can restrict non-Saint Peter's email addresses from joining a meeting unless admitted. The meeting organizer can also remove participants from a meeting. This article demonstrates how to invite, manage and remove Google Meet session attendees.

 

Audience

Public

 

Information

Access to Google Meet sessions do have built-in restrictions in place, by not allowing those with non-SPU email addresses to join a meeting without authorization. 

If a Saint Peter’s University Faculty member, Staff member or Student clicks a link for a Google Meet while logged into their SPU email account, they see the below screen, in which displays a “Join Now” button to let them come into the meeting. 

If a person who is using a non-SPU Email address clicks or attempts to access a link, or tries to enter a meeting by typing in a Google Meet URL, they see the below screen, in which displays a “Ask to Join” button. Clicking this will put them in a virtual "waiting room". 

While they are in the “virtual waiting room”, a message will display in the Google Meet session letting the organizer know that someone is asking to attend. They are not able to enter the meeting unless the meeting organizer admits them: 

If a person who is not logged into any Google Account at all clicks or attempts to access a link, or tries to enter a meeting by typing in a Google Meet URL, they see the below screen, which prompts them to enter a name in order to “Ask to Join” the meeting. 

Once they enter a name and click ‘Ask to Join”, a message will display in the Google Meet session letting the organizer know that someone is asking to attend, and they are “unverified”. They are not able to enter the meeting unless the meeting organizer admits them: 

If they are denied entry, they will see the below screen, which lets them know that they cannot join the call, because the meeting organizer has denied their request to join. 

Within a Google Meet session that is underway, it is also possible to invite participants. Once inside the meeting, this can be done by clicking the “Person” icon at the upper right: 

After this, click the “Add People” icon: 

From here, you can invite people to a meeting via email or by toggling to “Call” and typing their phone number. 

If you start typing a person’s name, their SPU email address will appear in the dropdown list for you to select. 

You may invite people who are outside of SPU by typing out their full email address as well: if you do so, you will see the below message when attempting to invite them which lets you know that one or more email addresses you have entered are from outside Saint Peter’s University.  

Clicking “Send Invite” will send the invitation to anyone’s emails you have added, and that person gets an email and can click through it to join without having to be authorized: 

Google Meet URLs should only be shared with the immediate meeting participants (never made public). For faculty members, posting Meet URLs within your Announcements on Blackboard is a great way to ensure only SPU students get the links to your meetings via their SPU email addresses. 

A Meeting organizer can mute or remove attendees from a meeting. If you are the meeting organizer, this can be done by clicking the “Person” icon at the upper right: 

After this, click the name of the person you would like to manage. You will see a dropdown expand with 3 icons - A pin, a microphone, and a circle with a minus symbol: 

Clicking the “microphone” icon on the center will allow you to mute that participant. You will be prompted with a confirmation when attempting to do so - continue and the person will be muted. 

  • To mute or unmute yourself, tap Mute Mute

  • Phone participants can press *6 to unmute their phone.  

  • Any participant can be muted, including people who dial-in using a phone.

  • For privacy reasons, you cannot unmute another person. Ask the participant to unmute their audio.

Clicking the circle with the minus symbol at the right will remove the participant. You will be prompted with a confirmation when attempting to do so - continue and the person will be removed and see the below message. 

Make sure to not click “Admit” on anyone trying to join your Google Meet unless you are absolutely sure you know who they are; if they are using their SPU Account, they will not need to request access this way, and will be able to automatically join your meeting.

If you are experiencing issues with Google Meet, please contact IT Client Services by emailing servicedesk@saintpeters.edu.

 

Details

Article ID: 106157
Created
Mon 4/27/20 9:58 AM
Modified
Thu 4/30/20 5:21 PM